The User Profile feature provides every user with a personal page that describes their background, contacts, location, work titles and departments, and more.
They can edit their details right on the page. The “status” seen near the profile picture can also be changed by the user.
The exact fields here are currently limited to:
- About – a simple text field for the user to tell something about themselves.
- Personal info
- Date of birth
- Phone number
- Job title
By clicking on an email address or a phone number, users can instantly contact the user through these means. These details can be made private or public (for signed-in users).
The Profile has several page layouts available for use – in the double-column page layout; there’s extra space available for any Valamis tool you may want on the page, while a single-column layout provides a cleaner look.
Editing Profile Details
- First, upload your profile picture by clicking the corresponding button.
- Then, upload a background cover image for your profile page.
- To change the profile details, click on the Edit button in the lower section of the page to open the following menu:
- Fill in your details. Each field can be made hidden or visible to other signed-in users. Note that to see another user profile, you need to know their URL and copy it into the browser – this will be improved soon in development.
Configuring the Profile Page
To configure a profile page, do the following steps:
- Create a profile page and apply one of the profile page layouts to it.
- Add the following tools from the Valamis Utilities section: first, “Basic info” on top of the page, then “About” under it.
- In Control Panel - Theme Settings – Control menu, go to the bottom of the page, find the Show profile settings and enable it. Copy and paste the URL of the page you’ve created in these steps.
Done! Now this page can be accessed via the user menu in the top-right corner.
Custom Fields in User Profile
The Profile Settings app allows you to configure Custom fields for user profiles.
Custom fields are divided into groups that you also create. Each field may be set as read-only to prevent editing by users, or it can be allowed to change the value.
Another option is the privacy settings, which make the field visible to the profile owner or to all signed-in users.
You may also prevent changes from being done by the profile owner via the corresponding settings.